Pour Out Your Soul to the Lord

open_bible_with_bookmark_596604I try to read scripture everyday during my time of devotion or anytime throughout the day.  It always amazes me how God speaks to us through scripture and reveals to us everything that we need to know to live in this world.

Today I am reading 1 Samuel.  Hannah, the wife of Elkanah, was praying to the Lord for a son.  She vowed to give the son over to God as long as he lived.

Eli, the priest, saw her lips moving but didn’t hear any words and thought that she was drunk.

Hannah was not drunk.

And Hannah answered and said, No, my lord, I am a woman of a sorrowful spirit: I have drunk neither wine nor strong drink, but have poured out my soul before the Lord. (1 Samuel 1:15 KJV)

After Hannah prayed and poured out her soul, the Lord answered her prayer and blessed her with a son that she named Samuel,

“saying, Because I have asked him of the Lord” (1 Samuel 1:20 KJV)

Wow.  Hannah didn’t just come to God with words and vain repetitions, she gave her soul. Makes me think about my prayer life – am I giving my all in prayer?  Am I coming to God with a humble spirit?  Am I pouring out my soul?  Whatever I am praying for – am I willing to give it over to the Lord, to be used for his glory?